Spread the love


Adeaze Lawrence

Gov. Aminu Waziri Tambuwal of Sokoto state has accepted the resignation of thirteen key portfolio holders in his administration.

A press statement by the Governor’s office on Wednesday states that top of the list is Hon. Manir Muhammad Dan Iya, the Deputy Governor, who resigned as the Overseer of the Ministry of Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs.

According to the statement, “the remaining Commissioners are those hitherto manning Ministries of Finance, Environment, Youths and Sports, Land and Housing; as well as Careers and Security: Hon. Abdussamad Dasuki, Hon. Sagir Bafarawa, Hon. Bashir Gorau, Hon. Aminu Bala Bodinga and Col. Garba Moyi (rtd) respectively.

“Other Commissioners who resigned are those of Commerce, Works, Water Resources, Solid Minerals and Religious Affairs: Hon. Bashir Gidado, Hon. Salihu Maidaji, Hon. Shuaibu Gwanda Gobir, Hon. Abubakar Maikudi Ahmad and Hon. Abdullahi Maigwandu correspondingly.

“More of the resignees include the Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Mallam Sa’idu Umar and the Chief of Staff, Mukhtar Umar Magori.”

The public and political office holders resigned in order to participate in contests for various offices in 2023 elections.

The Deputy Governor, Manir Dan Iya, made his declaration to replace Governor Tambuwal today at the PDP’s state office on Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.