Spread the love


By Sani Wilson Enemona

A total of nineteen Resident Electoral Commissioners, REC, have been confirmed by the Senate for the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

Daily Star Nigeria gathered that the confirmation was sequel to the consideration of the Committee on INEC, led by Senator Kabiru Gaya, APC, Kano South.

It could be recalled that the committee had last week, screened the 19 nominees presented for confirmation by President Muhammadu Buhari, of which five are for reappointment, while fourteen are for new appointments.

President Muhammadu Buhari transmitted the names of 19 nominees as Resident Electoral Commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, to the Senate for confirmation in July.

Daily Star Nigeria further learnt that the renewal nominees confirmed yesterday include Ibrahim Abdullahi (Adamawa); Obo Effanga (Cross River); Umar Ibrahim (Taraba); Agboke Olaleke (Ogun); and Professor Samuel Egwu (Kogi).

Onyeka Ugochi (Imo); Muhammad Bashir (Sokoto); Ayobami Salami, a professor, (Oyo); Zango Abdu (Katsina); Queen Agwu (Ebonyi); and Agundu Tersoo (Benue); Yomere Oritsemlebi (Delta); Yahaya Ibrahim, a professor, (Kaduna); Nura Ali (Kano); Agu Uchenna (Enugu) among others were those confirmed for fresh appointment.

It was also revealed that Ahmed Garki (FCT); Hudu Yunusa (Bauchi); Uzochukwu Chijioke, a professor, (Anambra); and Mohammed Nura (Yobe).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *